Cassiber: Orphee’s mirror & I tried to reach you

From «Perfect worlds» (1986) || No copyright infringement intended. Copyright belongs to the Record Label/Company and the Artist || Support the artist.

Studio Album, released in 1992

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Dust and Ashes (2:03)
2. Crusoe’s Landing (4:34)
3. Miracolo (4:53)
4. Prometheus (4:51)
5. Sleep Armed (2:15)
6. In a Room (4:56)
7. Todo dia (2:35)
8. Orphee’s Mirror (5:02)
9. I tried to reach you (1:59)

Total Time: 33:09

Line-up / Musicians

— Christoph Anders /singing, sampling keyboard, guitar
— Chris Cutler / drums, electrics, voice
— Heiner Goebbels / keyboards, sampling, guitar on 16, bass, computer work

Releases information

Recommended Records ReRB 0000CD

 Из wiki

Cassiber were a German avantrock group founded in 1982 by German composer and saxophonist Alfred Harth, German composer, music-theatre director and keyboardist Heiner Goebbels, English drummer Chris Cutler from Henry Cow and German guitarist Christoph Anders. They recorded five albums, toured extensively across Europe, Asia and NorthAmerica, and disbanded in 1992.

Cassiber’s music was a blend of speed-punk, free jazz and sampling which incorporated found sounds and news broadcasts. They were best known for the «frantic intensity» of their live performances. A Time Out critic wrote, «Cassiber play as if they only have a minute left to live.» They were also noted for their style of playing, which was to «improvise ‘completed pieces'».


  • Man or Monkey? (1982, 2xLP, Riskant, Germany + CD Recommended Records, UK)
  • Beauty and the Beast (1984, LP, Riskant, Germany + LP and CD Recommended Records, UK)
  • Perfect Worlds (1986, LP, Recommended Records, UK)
  • A Face We All Know (1990, CD, Recommended Records, UK)
  • Live in Tokyo (1998, 2xCD, Recommended Records, UK)
  • The Way It Was (2012, CD, Recommended Records, UK)


  • «Time Running Out» (1984, one-sided 7″, Recommended Records, UK) – issued with the subscription edition of the LP Beauty and the Beast


  • The Cassiber Box (2013, 6 CDs + DVD, Recommended Records, UK)